Our Peer Counselling Network

 

A peer counselor is, by definition, a peer helper who is part of our integration team. Their goal is to assist our members in their rehabilitation process and their social needs accordingly. They meet people with spinal cord injuries in their environment to give them support and encourage them in their reintegration process.

They can offer:

  • Emotional support: they listen to the member with empathy. They try to reduce the impact of challenging situations and encourage the member in the process of socialization.
  • Personalised attention to each member: with a positive attitude, they acknowledge the member’s intrinsic value and can share their own qualities and successes.
  • Practical support: the peer counselors can offer advice on a daily basis in order to help develop useful skills (how to organize the groceries, how to navigate safely, etc.). They can also offer support and advice in the necessary steps to a successful reintegration process (using adapted transport, adapting their vehicle, housing, etc.).

From their experience related to their own spinal cord injury, the volunteer peer counselors can help the member overcome obstacles and identify problems with the objective of stimulating his ability to move forward.

 

Active volunteer peer counselors:

Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean : Christine Thibault and Jean-Pierre Gobeil

Capitale-Nationale : Éric Gilbert

Chaudière-Appalaches : Madeleine Holden and Dominique Guay

Eastern Townships : Valérie Guimond

Abitibi-Témiscamingue : Dominic Piché

Montérégie : Dominic Mercier 

 

Objectives of this program:

To facilitate the realization of the role of MEMO-Qc regarding the rehabilitation and integration of our members at the beginning of their new lives, we wish to develop a presence and a source of support throughout the province of Quebec. We want to offer an equal quality of services and interventions throughout all regions of Quebec, from Montréal to Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean.

Specifically, we want to support anyone with a spinal cord injury throughout Quebec with respect to the principles of fairness and equality, and offer the appropriate support to our members to ensure quality integration. This will take place throughout the entire rehabilitation process, from the initial diagnosis in the hospital to their return to everyday life. Our main objective is to have volunteer peer counselors throughout Quebec and to be represented in all of the rehabilitation centres in the province.

Becoming a volunteer peer counselor:

Our peer counselors are volunteers who have completed at least one year post rehabilitation, and who are able to serve as examples for people with spinal cord injuries. They are recruited primarily by our integration counselors. In order to become volunteer peer counselors and be able to meet our member, they have to go through a phase of training by attending two workshops.

Our peer counselors are recruited according to the following criteria:

  • They are living with a spinal cord injury;
  • They have completed the rehabilitation process;
  • They have lived in a stable state for at least one year;
  • They are willing to share their personal story;
  • They have an interest in supporting their peers and being role models for them;
  • They have solid communication skills;
  • They have an interest in activity organization;
  • They are members of MEMO-Qc.

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer peer counselor or if you want information about the program, please contact Vanessa-Anne Paré, Community organizer for Western Quebec (514 341-7272 ext 233 or vpare@moelleepiniere.com).

Le réseau de conseillers pairs bénévoles


Le réseau de conseillers pairs bénévoles

Le conseiller pair est, par définition, un pair-aidant qui fait partie intégrante de l’équipe d’intégration. Il a pour objectif d’assister le pair-aidé dans sa démarche de réinsertion sociale selon les besoins exprimés. Pour cela, il rencontre les blessés médullaires dans leur environnement pour leur apporter du support et les encourager dans leur processus de réinsertion à la vie active. Il peut offrir :

  • Un soutien émotionnel : il écoute le pair aidé, avec empathie. Il tente de diminuer l’impact des situations difficiles et l’encourage dans le parcours de socialisation.
  • Une attention privilégiée à chaque aidé : par cette attitude, il reconnaît sa valeur intrinsèque et lui renvoie une image valorisée de ses qualités et réussites.
  • Un soutien pratique : cela passe par des conseils pour le quotidien dans le but de développer des compétences utiles (comment s’organiser pour faire son épicerie, comment circuler sans risque…). Il soutient également l’aidé dans l’ensemble des démarches nécessaires (transport adapté, adaptation de son véhicule, de son logement…).

À partir de son expérience liée à sa blessure médullaire, le conseiller pair bénévole aide à surmonter les obstacles et à identifier les difficultés et les a priori de l’aidé dans l’objectif de stimuler sa capacité à avancer.

Conseillers pairs bénévoles en exercice

Bas-St-Laurent: Maryse

Saguenay Lac-St-Jean: Christine 

Chaudière-Appalaches: Madeleine

Laval: Paul

Abitibi: Anne et Dominic

Objectifs de ce projet :

Afin de faciliter la réalisation du rôle de MEMO-Qc à l’égard de la réadaptation et de l’intégration des membres au cœur de leur nouveau quotidien, nous désirons développer une présence, une source de soutien régulière en région. Nous souhaitons ainsi offrir une qualité de services et d’interventions semblable et aussi significative qu’elle peut l’être à Montréal ou à Québec.

Concrètement, nous désirons accompagner toute personne ayant une blessure médullaire à travers tout le Québec en respect du principe d’équité et d’égalité, à l’aide d’un soutien approprié, afin d’assurer une intégration de qualité. Cela devra avoir lieu durant tout le processus de réadaptation, allant de l’annonce du diagnostic en centre de réadaptation au retour à la vie quotidienne. L’objectif principal est d’avoir des conseillers pairs bénévoles à travers tout le Québec et d’être représenté dans tous les centres de réadaptation de la province.

Devenir conseiller pair bénévole :

Les conseillers pairs bénévoles sont principalement recrutés par les conseillers en intégration qui sont en mesure de déceler les qualités d’un aidant chez certaines personnes blessées médullaires qui ont, bien entendu, terminé leur réadaptation depuis au moins un an. Ils devront suivre une formation en deux parties avant de pouvoir rencontrer des pairs-aidés.

Nos conseillers pairs sont recrutés en fonction des critères suivants :

  • être une personne qui vit avec une blessure médullaire;
  • avoir utilisé les services de réadaptation et de réinsertion sociale;
  • vivre une stabilité de son état depuis au moins un an;
  • être prêt à partager son histoire personnelle;
  • avoir un intérêt pour l’expérience de soutien et d’entraide auprès de pairs;
  • avoir des habiletés de communication;
  • avoir un intérêt pour l’organisation d’activités;
  • être membre de MEMO-Qc.

Si vous aimeriez devenir conseiller pair bénévole ou obtenir plus d’information sur ce sujet, communiquez avec Nicolas Abguéguen, organisateur communautaire responsable du projet, au 514 341-7272 poste 233, ou encore par courriel au nabgueguen@moelleepiniere.com.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée.