Aid and support

Aid and support


MEMO-Que provides support services to people with spinal cord injuries. With our experience, we focus on of developing relationships and offering support and psychosocial counseling. This work is being done by our integration counselors. During the different phases of rehabilitation, MEMO-Que counselors are present to establish a solid relationship of trust with the patient and his or her family. This relationship of trust is the cornerstone which allows them to play their most important roles: consolidation and retention.

Specifically, the integration counselor is there to listen and give personalized support, first by meeting the patient during his rehabilitation, and from then on, so that he can resume a full life. For example, the counselor can provide advice on adapting a home or vehicle, or address more personal matters such as sexuality after a spinal cord injury. The advisor is also available to assist and support the families of new spinal cord injuries and their entourage, in providing advice or sharing with them their personal experiences.

MEMO-Que’s integration counselors have a role to play for people with spinal cord injuries at all stages of their rehabilitation, but it’s rare they are called to intervene in phase I. To achieve this, our counselors provide a continuous presence at The Gingras-Lindsay Rehabilitation Institute of Montreal, the Institute of physical rehabilitation of Quebec and the Centre de réadaptation Lucie- Bruneau. We are also involved at the following rehabilitation centers who serve the needs of patients with an SCI:

  • Jewish Rehabilitation Hospital in Laval
  • Shield Rehabilitation center in Terrebonne and Joliette
  • Marie-Enfant Rehabilitation Centre (Sainte-Justine Hospital)
  • The Path Centre for Physical Rehabilitation in Jonquière

Google map showing our presence in Quebec

At the request of someone with a spinal cord injury outside of the centers mentioned, our counselors can also provide integration services in other Quebec rehabilitation centers. Our volunteer peer counselors may be called to intervene outside major centers.

Aide et accompagnement

 

Aide et accompagnement

 

MEMO-Qc dispense des services de soutien aux personnes blessées médullaires. Dans ce champ d’expertise, notre intervention en est une de relation d’aide, de soutien psychosocial et de mentorat. Ce travail est accompli par nos conseillers en intégration. Au cours des différentes phases de la réadaptation, les conseillers de MEMO-Qc sont présents afin d’établir une solide relation de confiance avec le blessé médullaire et sa famille. Cette relation de confiance est la pièce maîtresse qui leur permet de jouer leur rôle le plus important : la consolidation et le maintien des acquis.

Concrètement, le conseiller en intégration est là pour écouter et apporter un soutien personnalisé, tout d’abord en rencontrant la personne durant sa réadaptation, mais aussi par la suite, afin qu’elle puisse reprendre une vie harmonieuse. Par exemple, il pourra prodiguer des conseils sur l’adaptation d’un domicile ou d’un véhicule, ou aborder des sujets plus personnels, comme la sexualité après un accident à la moelle épinière. Le conseiller est aussi disponible pour aider et soutenir la famille et l’entourage des nouveaux blessés médullaires, en leur prodiguant des conseils ou en partageant avec eux son expérience personnelle.

Les conseillers en intégration de MEMO-Qc ont un rôle à jouer auprès des blessés médullaires à toutes les phases de la réadaptation bien qu’il arrive plus rarement qu’ils soient appelés à intervenir en phase I. Pour bien y arriver, nos conseillers assurent une présence continue à L’Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay de Montréal, à l’Institut de réadaptation en déficience physique de Québec et au Centre de réadaptation Lucie-Bruneau. Nous sommes également présents dans les centres de réadaptation suivants en fonction des besoins de la clientèle blessée médullaire qui les fréquente :

  • Hôpital de réadaptation juif de Laval
  • Centre de réadaptation le Bouclier de Terrebonne et de Joliette
  • Centre de réadaptation Marie-Enfant (Hôpital Sainte-Justine)
  • Centre de réadaptation en déficience physique Le Parcours de Jonquière

À la demande de personnes blessées médullaires à l’extérieur des centres mentionnés, les conseillers en intégration peuvent également fournir des services dans d’autres centres de réadaptation du Québec. Nos conseillers pairs bénévoles peuvent aussi être appelés à intervenir à l’extérieur des grands centres.