Dealing with a new spinal cord injury

Dealing with a new spinal cord injury

Continuity of services in SCI Centres for East and West Quebec

Following an accident that affects the spinal cord, a person is immediately taken to the nearest hospital, then stabilized and directed to an SCI Centre. They will start by being treated for trauma, and will end on the path towards rehabilitation, before returning to the community. This process manifests itself in the four phases of rehabilitation.

Phase I

Phase I rehabilitation immediately follows the accident. This is the moment where the injured person, whose spine was affected, is taken to the Trauma unit at the Sacré-Cœur Hospital in Montreal or at the Enfant-Jesus Hospital in Quebec. The medical team must initially stabilize the condition of the person and do everything possible to ensure that the consequences of the trauma are as minimal as possible. A preliminary diagnosis may be announced immediately following the SCI, but generally it will be completed during Phase II, when experts can better determine the severity of the injury.

Phase II

Phase 2 is characterized by an intensive period of rehabilitation at the Gingras-Lindsay Institute of Montreal or at the Institut de réadaptation en déficience physique de Québec. Some objectives of this phase include learning how to transfer and working on strength and balance with a physiotherapist, and learning about the different tools and options available for returning home with an occupational therapist. The person with the SCI is supported by a multidisciplinary team of specialists such as occupational therapist, physical therapist, physiatrist, social worker, psychologist, sexologist, urologist, etc. The length of stay varies depending on several factors that differ from person to person.

Phase III

With the objectives of Phase II met, the patient will either go back in the community or they will be admitted to a phase III center for further rehabilitation. At this stage, it often happens that the achievements of Phase II of the rehabilitation are still fragile. The patient must rebuild his self-esteem and maximize his or her potential. They must also learn to function in daily activities. These are the main objectives of Phase III rehabilitation. At this critical stage the patient often has to face his new reality and we note the intensification of the grieving process. This process can take several years, well beyond their stay at the rehabilitation center, as the limitations of their spinal cord injury become evident in their everyday lives.

Phase IV

The health system has its limitations. Sometimes when the patient leaves the rehabilitation network and returns to their environment, it doesn’t necessarily mean that all their needs are met. At this stage we can realize obvious problems that will confront some patients who have received the continuum of services through the rehabilitation network. For many, the process will be very well in place and they can finish their grieving process, and therefore be able to realize a new life with new projects, both personal and professional. For others, the situation can be much more complicated. Difficulties in returning to the living environment and physical health problems can increase the frustrations inherent to their new reality of being disabled.

The role of social integration services at MEMO-Que

MEMO-Que provides support services for the rehabilitation and social integration, throughout all of the phases of rehabilitation. It goes without saying that professional services and psychological support are essential to withstand the test of trauma and equip the new spinal cord injured patient in their reintegration.

One thought on “Dealing with a new spinal cord injury

  • Friday March 31st, 2017 at 08:23 PM
    Permalink

    L’explication ci-haut est très bien détaillée et facile à comprendre. On y comprend mieux tout ce que la réadaptation comporte, tous les points que cela touche. J’ai bien aimé.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Le parcours d’un nouveau blessé médullaire

Le parcours d’un nouveau blessé médullaire – Continuum de services dans les Centres d’expertise pour blessés médullaires de l’Est et de l’Ouest du Québec

Suite à un accident qui touche la moelle épinière, une personne est immédiatement prise en charge et dirigée vers les services médicaux appropriés des Centres d’expertise pour les blessés médullaires. Elle sera d’abord traitée en traumatologie, puis se retrouvera sur le chemin de la réadaptation, avant de retourner dans la communauté. Ce processus se manifeste par ce que l’on appelle les quatre phases de la réadaptation.

Phase I : Traumatologie

La phase I de la réadaptation fait immédiatement suite à l’accident. C’est le moment où la personne accidentée, dont la colonne vertébrale a été touchée, se retrouve en traumatologie, soit à l’hôpital Sacré-Cœur de Montréal (Ouest du Québec) ou à l’Hôpital de l’Enfant-Jésus de Québec (Est du Québec). L’équipe médicale doit dans un premier temps stabiliser l’état de la personne et faire tout ce qui est possible pour que les séquelles soient les moins graves possibles. Un diagnostic préliminaire peut être annoncé au nouveau blessé médullaire, mais généralement, il sera complété lors de la phase II, quand les spécialistes pourront bien établir la gravité de la blessure.

Phase II : Réadaptation fonctionnelle intensive (RFI)

La phase II est pour sa part caractérisée par une période intensive de réadaptation physique à l’Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay de Montréal (Pavillon Gingras) ou à l’Institut de réadaptation en déficience physique de Québec. La personne blessée médullaire est prise en charge par une équipe multidisciplinaire constituée de spécialistes : ergothérapeutes, physiothérapeutes, physiatres, travailleurs sociaux, psychologues, sexologues, urologues, etc. La durée du séjour varie en fonction de plusieurs facteurs qui diffèrent d’une personne à l’autre.

Phase III : Réadaptation axée sur l’intégration sociale (RAIS)

Les objectifs de la phase II atteints, le client entame la phase III de son processus de réadaptation. En fonction de certains facteurs, il réalisera cette phase soit en suivi externe (de retour dans son milieu de vie), soit à l’interne (dans un centre de réadaptation régional ou encore, à l’Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay de Montréal (Pavillon Lindsay) ou à l’Institut de réadaptation en déficience physique de Québec).

À cette étape, il arrive très souvent que les acquis de la phase II de la réadaptation soient encore fragiles. Le blessé médullaire doit reconstruire son estime de soi et maximiser son potentiel résiduel. Il doit réapprendre à fonctionner dans ses activités quotidiennes. Il s’agit là des principaux objectifs de la phase III de la réadaptation. C’est à ce stade critique que le blessé médullaire prend souvent contact avec sa nouvelle réalité et que l’on remarque l’intensification du processus de deuil. Ce processus s’étend sur plusieurs années, bien au-delà de son séjour au centre de réadaptation, alors que les limitations de son nouvel état se manifestent dans sa vie de tous les jours.

Phase IV : Maintien des acquis

Le système de santé a ses limites et arrive le moment où le blessé médullaire quitte le réseau de la réadaptation pour réintégrer son milieu de vie. Cela ne veut cependant pas dire que tous ses besoins ont été comblés. C’est à cette étape que l’on réalise de façon évidente les problèmes auxquels seront confrontés une partie des clients qui auront reçu le continuum de services. Il faut dire que pour plusieurs, le processus se sera très bien déroulé et qu’ils seront sur le pont de terminer leur deuil, donc en mesure d’entrevoir une nouvelle vie avec de nouveaux projets, tant sur le plan personnel, professionnel que familial. Pour d’autres, la situation sera beaucoup plus compliquée. Les difficultés liées au retour dans le milieu de vie et à la santé physique ne feront qu’accentuer les problèmes inhérents à leur nouvelle condition, soit celle de devoir composer avec un handicap au quotidien.

Le rôle du service d’intégration sociale de MÉMO-Qc

MÉMO-Qc dispense des services de soutien à la réadaptation et à l’intégration sociale tout au long des phases de la réadaptation. Il va sans dire que les services professionnels de soutien psychologique sont indispensables pour traverser l’épreuve du traumatisme et outiller le nouveau blessé médullaire dans la poursuite de son intégration.