Mission

Our mission


Moelle épinière et motricité Québec, formerly the Quebec Paraplegic Association and the Foundation for Spinal Cord Research, is a non-profit organisation that has been operating since 1946. Its mission is to promote self-sufficiency, independence and quality of life for people living with disabilities. The organization intervenes to facilitate the social integration of people with spinal cord injury, to promote their rights and support research. It also aims at developing the employability of people with physical and neurological limitations.

Social integration

Our integration services meet the needs of people with spinal cord injuries from across Quebec by ensuring a continuous presence in the three main readaptation centres in the province: the IRDPQ, the IRGLM and the CRLB. We also have a presence throughout Quebec in other rehabilitation centers and in hospitals that are centers of expertise for SCI when our services are needed. MEMO-Que offers various services to enable patients help maximize their rehabilitation and social integration after a spinal cord injury, working in tandem with the readaptation centres throughout the patient’s readaptation process. In addition our integration counsellors, who are themselves living with a spinal cord injury, can be beneficial to our members as peers by sharing their experiences and achievements, giving support, guidance and information throughout their lives.

Employability

Our employment services are available to aid people with physical or neurological disabilities in their process to find employment or return to school. The primary objective of our counsellors is to help our members develop their autonomy, promote their social integration, and above all to help keep them employed.

Advocacy

MEMO-Que is responsible for educating the public, policymakers and employers on the condition of spinal cord injury and persons with disabilities. Our counselors can also assist individual members who feel their rights are not respected. Moreover, prevention of spinal cord injury is one of our major concerns.

Research Support

MEMO-Que also has the task of raising funds to support projects to enable it to meet challenges in three specific areas:
• curing spinal cord injuries
• Improving the quality of life of people with spinal cord injuries
• prevention of spinal cord injuries

In 2010, the Quebec Paraplegic Association (QPA) joined forces with the Foundation for Spinal Cord Injury Research (FREM) and became MEMO-Qc. In the Association and Foundation section, you can learn about their rich history and their complementary missions.

Our organization could not support people living with spinal cord injuries without the generous participation of its Board of Directors and our spokespersons, as well as the members of our work team and our volunteers who work tirelessly to empower people living with spinal cord injuries or other disabilities.

Mission

Notre mission


Moelle épinière et motricité Québec, anciennement Association des paraplégiques du Québec / Fondation pour la recherche sur la moelle épinière, est un organisme à but non lucratif qui existe depuis 1946. Sa mission est de favoriser l’autonomie et améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes vivant avec un handicap. L’organisme intervient pour faciliter l’intégration sociale des personnes ayant une lésion à la moelle épinière, faire la promotion de leurs droits et soutenir la recherche. Elle vise également le développement de l’employabilité des personnes ayant des limitations physiques et neurologiques.

Intégration sociale

Notre service d’intégration répond aux besoins des blessés médullaires de tout le Québec en assurant une présence continue à l’Institut de réadaptation en déficience physique de Québec (IRDPQ), à l’Institut de réadaptation Gingras-Lindsay de Montréal (IRGLM) et au Centre de réadaptation Lucie-Bruneau (CRLB). De manière ponctuelle, nous assurons une présence dans les autres centres de réadaptation physique ainsi que dans les hôpitaux faisant partie des centres d’expertise pour les blessés médullaires. MEMO-Qc offre différents services qui permettent aux personnes concernées de mieux vivre la réadaptation et l’intégration sociale à la suite d’une blessure médullaire, et ce, en complémentarité avec les établissements du continuum de services de l’Est et de l’Ouest du Québec. De plus, nos conseillers en intégration, qui sont eux-mêmes blessés médullaires et peuvent ainsi faire profiter à leurs pairs de leurs expériences et acquis, peuvent soutenir, accompagner et informer nos membres tout au long de leur vie, selon le besoin.

Employabilité

Notre service d’employabilité accompagne des personnes ayant des limitations physiques ou neurologiques dans leur processus de recherche d’emploi ou de retour aux études. L’objectif premier de nos conseillers est d’amener les personnes à développer de l’autonomie dans leurs démarches, de promouvoir leur intégration sociale et, surtout de favoriser leur maintien en emploi.

Défense des droits et intérêts collectifs

MEMO-Qc s’occupe de sensibiliser le public, les décideurs politiques et les employeurs à la condition du blessé médullaire et des personnes vivant avec un handicap. Nos conseillers peuvent également accompagner sur le plan individuel des membres dont les droits ne sont pas respectés. De surcroît, la prévention des blessures médullaires est une de nos grandes préoccupations.

Soutien à la recherche

MEMO-Qc a aussi pour mission d’amasser des fonds pour appuyer des projets lui permettant de relever des défis dans trois axes précis :

  • la guérison des blessures médullaires;
  • l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des blessés médullaires;
  • la prévention des blessures médullaires.

Ce que vous trouverez dans la section Qui sommes-nous?

En 2010, l’Association des paraplégiques du Québec (APQ) unit ses forces avec la Fondation pour la recherche sur la moelle épinière (FReMÉ) et devient Moelle épinière et motricité Québec (MEMO-Qc). Dans les sections Association et Fondation, vous pourrez en apprendre davantage sur leur riche histoire et leurs missions complémentaires.

Notre organisme ne pourrait soutenir les personnes vivant avec une blessure médullaire sans la généreuse participation de son Conseil d’administration et de son Parrain. De même les membres de l’Équipe de travail et les Bénévoles travaillent sans relâche pour favoriser l’autonomie des personnes blessées médullaires ou vivant avec d’autres limitations.